Commission on Native American Affairs

Administratively attached to the Department of Natural & Cultural Resources, the Commission on Native American Affairs recognizes the historic and cultural contributions of Native Americans to New Hampshire, promotes and strengthens Native American heritage and furthers the needs of New Hampshire’s Native American community through state policy and programs.

Commission on Native American Affairs
NH Department of Natural & Cultural Resources
172 Pembroke Road
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

Upcoming Meeting


To be determined


To be determined


To be determined

If planning on attending, please RSVP to Kayla Schweitzer by email at

All attendees please plan to park in the visitor lot and sign in at the reception desk upon entering the building.


  • Anne Jennison (European & Abenaki), Chair - appointed through 10/02/2025
  • Denise Pouliot (Sag8moskwa/Female Head Speaker of the Cowasuck Band of the Pennacook Abenaki), Vice Chair - appointed through 02/21/2024
  • Kayla Schweitzer, Secretary - appointed by the director of the NH State Council on the Arts
  • Sheila Charles - appointed by the director of the NH Division of Historical Resources
  • Bridget Herrera (Taino) - appointed through 01/10/2025
  • Cherie Pernaw (Co'wasuck Traditional Band of the Abenaki Nation) - appointed through 01/10/2025
  • Christine Nih'shaw (Siksíka Blackfeet & Onondaga) - appointed through 01/10/2025
  • James Edgell Jr. (Mohawk, Mi'kmaq, & Squamscott) - appointed through 03/04/2025
  • Carlos Cardona Lebron (Taino) - appointed through 03/04/2025
  • Diane Polewarczyk (Cherokee) - appointed through 03/04/2025
  • Vacant
  • Vacant
  • Vacant
  • Adria Brown (Chickasaw) - Director of Native American Program at Dartmouth College
  • Estlin McLellan (appointed by the director of the NH Division of Travel and Tourism Development)

Minutes & Reports

NH Commission on Native American Affairs Meeting Guidelines