2018-05-21: NH High School Short Film Festival announces 2018 winners2018-12-17T15:44:38-05:00


Shelly Angers, N.H. Department of Natural & Cultural Resources
Twitter: @NHDNCR

NH High School Short Film Festival announces 2018 winners

The 11th annual New Hampshire Film Office took place at Red River Theatres in Concord on May 19, with up-and-coming filmmakers from around the state taking home prizes in several categories.

Twenty-seven films were selected from 56 entries submitted by students from New Hampshire high schools and career and technology centers. They spanned a variety of film genres, including animation, comedy, drama, documentary and public service announcements/commercials.

Originality, cinematic storytelling and technical execution are the primary scoring elements.

This year’s winners are:

*Jury Award (Best in Show): “The Waiter”; Briana Demers, Grace Lumley, Nate Magoon; Salem High School
*Jury Award (Runner up): “The Letter”; Kenny Sullivan, Nick Hurman, Brandon Depew; Pinkerton Academy
*Jury Award Finalists:
–“Captain Dab”; Joshua McDevitt, Kellen Sheehan, Tyler McCallum; Nashua Technology Center
–“God’s Acre”; Brenden Nault; Salem High School
–“Worthless”; Autumn-Rose Bogdan, Rheannon Rodriguez; Salem High School
*Public Service Announcement Award: “Drive Safe”; Jeff Lybarger, Myles Ditkoff, Johnny Chavira, Sarah Eaton; Keene High School

The festival is an opportunity for students to have their films seen before the public at a professional venue and for the public to experience the state’s up-and-coming creative talent. For more information, visit nhstudentfilm.com.