# New Hampshire Commission on Native American Affairs (RSA- 12-A:14-a) 2021 Annual Report



Submitted to

His Excellency, Christopher T. Sununu Governor

The Honorable Sherman Packard Speaker of the House of Representatives

The Honorable Jeb Bradley
President of the Senate

Sarah L. Stewart
Commissioner of the Department of Natural and Cultural Resources

Michael York State Librarian for the New Hampshire State Library

Prepared by Anne Jennison, Chair, NHCNAA

2021 Annual Report of the New Hampshire Commission on Native American
Affairs Prepared by Anne Jennison - Chair

# New Hampshire Commission on Native American Affairs

The NH Commission on Native American Affairs (NHCNAA) was founded in 2010 to recognize the historic and cultural contributions of Native Americans throughout the state, to strengthen and promote NH Native peoples' heritage and to represent Native American interests through state policy and programming. The Commission is composed of 15 members including 4 state appointed positions and 11 members appointed by the Governor from the Native American communities throughout the state. The NHCNAA is mandated by New Hampshire RSA 12-A:14- a.

Commission on Native American Affairs

New Hampshire Department of Natural and Cultural Resources

19 Pillsbury Street

Concord, New Hampshire 03301

USA

https://www.dncr.nh.gov/commission-native-american-affairs

nhcnativeamericanaffairs@gmail.com

# 2021 Annual Report of the New Hampshire Commission on Native American Affairs Prepared by Anne Jennison - Chair

## COMMISSION MEMBERS (As of 12/31/2021)

- 1. Kathleen Blake, Chair (appointed through 11/22/2021)
- 2. Shawn O'Leary, Vice Chair (appointed by the director of the Dartmouth Native American Program)
- 3. Kayla Schweitzer, Secretary (appointed by the director of the NH State Council on the Arts)
- 4. Garrett Chapman, Treasurer (appointed through 6/20/2021)
- 5. Barbara Shea (appointed by the director of the NH Division of Travel and Tourism Development)
  - [Estlin McClellan appointed to replace Barbara Shea]
- 6. Daniel Howard (appointed through 2/21/2021)
- 7. Anne Jennison (appointed through 10/2/2022)
- 8. Peter Kenney (appointed through 6/20/2021)
- 9. Denise Pouliot (appointed through 2/21/2021)
- 10. Madeleine Wright (appointed through 2/21/2021)
- 11. Sheila Charles (appointed by the director of the NH Division of Historical Resources)
- 12. Vacant
- 13. Vacant
- 14. Vacant
- 15. Vacant

#### **LIST OF MEETINGS FOR 2021**

**Date: January 15, 2021** 

Time: 3:40 p.m.

**Location: Zoom meeting** 

**Date: January 27, 2021** 

Time: 3:33 p.m.

**Location: Zoom meeting** 

Date: February 23, 2021

Time: 3:01 p.m.

**Location: Zoom meeting** 

Date: March 18, 2021 Time: 4:45 p.m.

**Location: Zoom meeting** 

Date: June 9, 2021 Time: 3:06 p.m.

## 2021 Annual Report of the New Hampshire Commission on Native American Affairs Prepared by Anne Jennison, Chair

## Link to online meeting minutes:

https://www.dncr.nh.gov/commission-native-american-affairs/meeting-minutes-and-reports

2021 Annual Report of the New Hampshire Commission on Native American
Affairs Prepared by Anne Jennison, Chair

### 2021 Action Items:

- 1/15/2021 The Commission read and held an open discussion on the proposed Senate Bill 33 relative to Native American name restoration of New Hampshire geographical features, etc. and spoke with Ruth Ward (one of bill's sponsors) regarding the provisions of the bill.
- A motion was made for the Chair to speak on behalf of Commission at Senate hearing a. "We are pleased to have this bill brought forth. We appreciate that we have been included. We do have concerns about the language and feel that modifications need to be made. We would like to have enough time to consult constituents about this."
   b. Roll call vote: unanimous; approved
- It was also decided that the Chair would invite Senator Watters to a NHCNAA meeting to further discuss the bill.
- 1/27/2021 The Commission met and consulted with Senator David Watters and Senator Tim Horrigan, co-sponsors of SB 33, and Ken Gallagher (NH Office of Strategic Initiatives) regarding details that would need to be considered as the bill moved forward.
- 2/23/2021 It was noted that noted that the NH Historical Marker advisory committee is just beginning the process of decolonizing the state historical road markers and will seek out NHCNAA's input regarding markers that reference New Hampshire's Indigenous people. It was decided that Kathleen Blake and Anne Jennison would review all of the existing state markers and work on compiling the priority list and adding comments. Discussion was

- also held about suggesting a list of new markers reflecting the Abenaki heritage of New Hampshire.
- 3/18/2021 The purpose of this emergency meeting was to vote on a draft letter regarding language for two pieces of legislation. The Chair read aloud the draft letter language for HB 155 renaming Columbus Day to Indigenous People's Day. A motion was made to accept draft language on opposing HB 155 in its current form and to send the letter to House Committee on Executive Departments and Administration and onto the Senate and/or Governor if the bill passes each respectively a. Roll Call Vote: unanimous; approved.
- Chair also read aloud draft letter language for SB 33 relative to Native American name restoration. A motion was made to accept draft language on opposing SB 33 in its current form and to send the letter onto to the House and/or Governor if the bill passes each respectively. A Roll Call Vote: unanimous; approved.
- 6/9/2021 The Chair introduced Representative Gerri Cannon who spoke to the Commission about drafting legislation for the fall to remove racist Native American mascots from NH schools. Rep. Cannon requested the Commission's assistance and support on drafting the proposed legislation. Commission Members expressed gratitude and willingness to work with Rep. Gerri Cannon on this matter. Kathleen Blake noted the existing NH School Board of Education Resolution to end the use of Native American mascots.
- Kathleen Blake noted need for a quorum to be present in order to convene Commission meetings and expressed concern, due to upcoming Commission members rotating off, one member resigning from the Commission, and two members moving out of state. It was also noted that the Governor's Office had not yet moved on approving new applications. Additionally, there is concern over people with disabilities not being able to attend in-person meetings
- The annual Officer Elections were held at this meeting.
  - a. Secretary
    - i. Kathleen Blake nominated Kayla Schweitzer Denise Pouliot seconded and Kayla Schweitzer accepted.
    - ii. Roll Call Vote: unanimous; approved

#### b. Chair

- i. Denise Pouliot nominated Anne Jennison, Garrett Chapman seconded. Anne Jennison conditionally accepted if remote access is continued.
  - ii. Roll Call Vote: unanimous; approved
- c. Vice Chair
  - i. Sheila Charles nominated Dan Howard, Daniel Howard declined.

- ii. Kayla Schweitzer nominated Denise Pouliot, Anne Jennison seconded. Denise Pouliot conditionally accepted if remote access was continued.
- iii. Roll Call Vote: unanimous; approved
- d. Treasurer
  - i. Denise Pouliot nominated Sheila Charles, Kayla Schweitzer seconded. Sheila Charles accepted.
  - ii. Roll Call Vote: unanimous; approved.
- Meeting Guidelines
  - a. Revisions were discussed among Commission Members
  - b. Kathleen Blake moved to do a roll call vote to approve the Meeting Guidelines with revisions
    - i. Roll Call Vote: unanimous; approved