# New Hampshire Commission on Native American Affairs (RSA- 12-A:14-a) 2022 Annual Report



Submitted to

His Excellency, Christopher T. Sununu Governor

The Honorable Sherman Packard Speaker of the House of Representatives

The Honorable Jeb Bradley
President of the Senate

Sarah L. Stewart
Commissioner of the Department of Natural and Cultural Resources

Michael York
State Librarian for the New Hampshire State Library

Prepared by Anne Jennison, Chair, NHCNAA

2022 Annual Report of the New Hampshire Commission on Native American
Affairs Prepared by Anne Jennison - Chair

# New Hampshire Commission on Native American Affairs

The NH Commission on Native American Affairs (NHCNAA) was founded in 2010 to recognize the historic and cultural contributions of Native Americans throughout the state, to strengthen and promote NH Native peoples' heritage and to represent Native American interests through state policy and programming. The Commission is composed of 15 members including 4 state appointed positions and 11 members appointed by the Governor from the Native American communities throughout the state. The NHCNAA is mandated by New Hampshire RSA 12-A:14- a.

Commission on Native American Affairs

New Hampshire Department of Natural and Cultural Resources

19 Pillsbury Street

Concord, New Hampshire 03301

USA

https://www.dncr.nh.gov/commission-native-american-affairs

nhcnativeamericanaffairs@gmail.com

#### **COMMISSION MEMBERS (As of 12/31/2022)**

#### **Members**

- Anne Jennison, Chair (appointed through 10/02/2022)
- Denise Pouliot, Vice Chair (appointed through 02/21/2024)
- Kayla Schweitzer, Secretary (appointed by the director of the NH State Council on the Arts)
- Sheila Charles (appointed by the director of the NH Division of Historical Resources)
- Estlin McLellan (appointed by the director of the NH Division of Travel and Tourism Development)
- Bridget Herrera (appointed through 01/10/2025)
- Cherie Pernaw (appointed through 01/10/2025)
- Deborah Calabrese (appointed through 01/10/2025)
- Christine Nih'shaw (appointed through 01/10/2025)
- James Edgell Jr. (appointed through 03/04/2025)
- Carlos Cardona Lebron (appointed through 03/04/2025)
- Diane Polewarczyk (appointed through 03/04/2025)
- Vacant
- Vacant
- Vacant (appointed by the director of the Dartmouth Native American Program)

2022 Annual Report of the New Hampshire Commission on Native American
Affairs Prepared by Anne Jennison, Chair

#### **LIST OF MEETINGS FOR 2022**

**Date:** March 29, 2022 **Time:** 1 - 3 p.m.

**Date:** June 30, 2022 **Time:** 1 - 3 p.m.

**Date:** July 28, 2022 **Time:** 1 - 3 p.m.

Date: December 1, 2022

**Time:** 1 - 3 p.m.

### **Location - All Meetings were held at:**

DNCR Main Conference Room NH Dept. of Natural and Cultural Resources 172 Pembroke Road Concord, NH 03301

# Link to online meeting minutes:

https://www.dncr.nh.gov/commission-native-american-affairs/meeting-minutes-and-reports

2022 Annual Report of the New Hampshire Commission on Native American
Affairs Prepared by Anne Jennison, Chair

#### 2022 Action Items:

- 3/29/2022 Anne Jennison, Chair welcomed five new members to the Commission. Introductions were made.
- Anne Jennison moved to discussing Committees and Committee Selections 8. Denise
  Pouliot motioned to abolish all standing sub-committees; Sheila Charles seconded a. Roll
  Call Vote: unanimous; approved
- 6/30/2022 Anne Jennison moved to discussion on Treasury Report
  - a. Kayla Schweitzer provided information on Treasury Account
    - i. The Treasury Report is on the website. Anne Jennison moved to discussion of whether or not the Commission requires a Treasurer as NHNAA funds are in a State of NH fund account rather than in a separate NHCNAA checking account.
    - ii. Sheila Charles motioned to dissolve the position of Treasurer; Cherie Pernaw seconded.
    - iii. Vote: unanimous; approved
- Anne Jennison moved to Annual Officer Elections and discussion.
  - a. Sheila Charles motioned to re-elect Anne Jennison as Chair, Denise Pouliot as Vice Chair, and Kayla Schweitzer as Secretary; Carlos Cardona Lebron seconded.
  - b. Vote: unanimous; approved
- Anne Jennison received notification that the NHCNAA Chair or designee is to serve on the American Revolution Sestercentennial Commission (NH HB 1441)
  - a. Cherie Pernaw motioned for Carlos Cardona Lebron to serve as the Commission's designee on the American Revolution Sestercentennial Commission; Bridget Herrera seconded. b. Vote: unanimous; approved.
- 7/28/2022 Amy Dixon (Community Preservation Coordinator at NHDHR) provided an update to Commission Members on relevant historic markers including Odiorne Point, Rye, Abenaki Tower and Trail Association, and proposals from INHCC (1713 Treaty of Portsmouth, and Pennacook Retribution Against Maj. Waldron in Dover). Amy Dixon moved to discuss the evolution of the Oyster River Marker in Durham. Commission members reviewed and discussed the original marker text and marker revisions proposed by DHA, DHR and Cowasuck Band Pennacook-Abenaki.
  - Sheila Charles motioned that the Commission support the Cowasuck Band Pennacook-Abenaki marker revision with edit; Christine Nih'shaw seconded i. Roll Call Vote:
    - a. In favor: Estlin McLellan, Cherie Pernaw, Anne Jennison, Bridget Herrera, Christine Nih'shaw, Sheila Charles, Diane Polewarczyk, Kayla Schweitzer.
    - ii. Abstain: Denise Pouliot iii Vote was Approved.

2022 Annual Report of the New Hampshire Commission on Native American
Affairs Prepared by Anne Jennison, Chair

# 2022 Action Items (continued):

- Anne Jennison moved to discussion on Abenaki Heritage Month Proclamation a. Anne Jennison noted that the Governor had made a proclamation on November 1, 2022, declaring November as "Abenaki Heritage Month" rather than "Native American Heritage Month", and that the Commission was mentioned in the proclamation, but had not been informed or invited to the ceremony.
  - b. The proclamation had been presented to two members of the Nulhegan Band of Abenaki, a Vermont tribe.
  - c. Members of the NH Commission on Native American Affairs learned of the Proclamation through word of mouth only in the last week of November.
  - d. This prompted an open discussion among Commission members about Proclamation based on a draft letter to the Governor that the Chair brought to this meeting, After much discussion, and listening to some advice by Christopher Bond (DOJ), Mark W. Dell'Orfano (DOJ) who happened to be guests at this meeting,
  - d. Sheila Charles motioned that after Commission discussion and consultation that Anne would write a letter to the Governor on the exclusion of the Commission on this process, future steps for improved consultation, and asking for a meeting with the Governor; Cherie Pernaw seconded. Vote:
    - a. In favor: Anne Jennison, Carlos Cardona Lebron, Denise Pouliot, Estlin McLellan, Cherie Pernaw, Christine Nih'shaw, Sheila Charles, James Edgell Jr., Diane Polewarczyk, Bridget Herrera (remote)
    - b. Recusal: Kayla Schweitzer
    - c. Approved

2022 Annual Report of the New Hampshire Commission on Native American Affairs Prepared by Anne Jennison, Chair