Four properties added to the NH State Register of Historic Places
The New Hampshire Division of Historical Resources has announced that the State Historical Resources Council has added four properties to the New Hampshire State Register of Historic Places.
Significant for its cultural and ethnic associations in Claremont and the Upper Valley region as well as for its architecture, Claremont’s Holy Resurrection Orthodox Church and Rectory was built in the traditional Eastern Orthodox Christian style. Its features include a bell tower and onion domes topped with bronze Eastern Orthodox crosses, as well as ornate interior decorations. In addition to the 1941-built church, the complex includes an 1840s brick Green Revival style house that is used as a rectory and a nineteenth century gable-facing barn.
Grasmere Schoolhouse #9 and Town Hall was built in 1889 to serve the needs of the local school district, the town of Goffstown and several community organizations in Goffstown Center, which was later named Grasmere. The Queen Anne style structure’s impressive entrance and tower made clear the building’s importance to the community. Changed little since its last renovation in 1911, it still has two schoolrooms in the lower story and an auditorium on the second floor.
From the time it was built in 1861, Hampstead Congregational Church served the town both as a center of worship and as a community gathering place. Its large seating capacity, high ceiling and relatively ornate setting made it a pleasant location for concerts by local musicians, and its proximity to the railroad increased opportunities for performing groups to easily travel for events there. A fine example of transitional Greek Revival and Italianate architecture, its iconic bell and spire, intact original windows and tympanum make the building unique in Hampstead.
Located one mile north of Stratham’s village on what was called “the King’s Highway” when it was built in 1725, Joshua Hill House is a two-story timber-framed structure with a central chimney and an attached ell. Significant for its Georgian architecture and Federal details, its clapboard exterior is framed by pilastered corner boards. The house’s rooms are mostly finished with wainscot, paneled fireplace surrounds and wide plank flooring. In 1933, a Colonial Revival extended entry was added to the main entrance.
Anyone wishing to nominate a property to the New Hampshire State Register of Historic Places must research the history of the nominated property and document it on an individual inventory form from the New Hampshire Division of Historical Resources. Having a property listed in the Register does not impose restrictions on property owners. For more information, visit nh.gov/nhdhr.
New Hampshire's Division of Historical Resources, the State Historic Preservation Office, was established in 1974 and is part of the NH Department of Natural and Cultural Resources. NHDHR’s mission is to preserve and celebrate New Hampshire’s irreplaceable historic resources through programs and services that provide education, stewardship, and protection. For more information, visit us online at nh.gov/nhdhr or by calling 603-271-3483.